The Returned & Services League of Australia announced the recipients of the 2019 ANZAC of the Year awards.

The ANZAC of the Year Awards are made annually ‘to recognise the efforts and achievements of up to seven Australians who have given service to their fellow Australians and to the community in a positive, selfless and compassionate manner.’

The 2019 recipients are:

  • • Mr Kenneth Beven OAM, of Western Australia in recognition of his significant contribution to veterans, the ex-service community and their families over many years.
  • • Mr Thomas Steele, of Victoria in recognition of his lifelong commitment to helping the community as an individual and through various organisations, including the CFA and the RSL.
  • • Mr Geoffrey Stewart, of South Australia in recognition of his many years of service to the community through various organisations, including for his work as a volunteer ambulance officer and a military historian.
  • • Mr Jeffery Yates OAM, of South Australia in recognition of his dedication and commitment over many years in the field of advocacy for veterans’ entitlements.

Interim Chairman of the National Board, Mr John King, has added; “the award recipients exemplify the Spirit of ANZAC within the community through their dedication and commitment to the benefit of others. They are exemplars of community service and an inspiration to all Australians.”

RSL South Australia offers congratulations to all recipients.