Australia Day Honours

The RSL congratulations all Australians who were recognised last week in the Australia Day Honours. We would in particular like to recognise three recipients who have made a significant contribution to the ADF and veteran community in South Australia:

Lieutenant Colonel Graham Malcolm GOODWIN, for outstanding achievement as the Commanding Officer of the 10th/27th Battalion, the Royal South Australia Regiment.  Graham was awarded a Conspicuous Service Cross and is pictured above leading the 10th/27th Battalion in the ANZAC Day March.  Graham has recently returned from a six month deployment to Afghanistan where he was part of a mentoring group training the new Afghani Army.

Mr Anthony Eugene CHAPLIN, for service to veterans and their families.   Tony was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (General Division) for his volunteer work over many years, especially the last 11 years as Chief Marshal of the ANZAC Day Commemorative March.  The award is richly deserved and Tony is a committed and loyal team player who is critical to the success of ANZAC Day.

Mr Alan Leslie ORROCK, for service to the community through a range of organisations.  Alan was awarded an OAM (General Division) for his volunteer work as treasurer and committee member for the Royal South Australia Regiment Association plus work with other associations including St Johns.  Alan is also a member of the Payneham RSL Sub-branch.